courtesy unsplash.com

My Dear Old Dad Always Said, “Aging Ain’t for the Faint of Heart”

Dean Benson
4 min readMay 10, 2024

Listen, folks, my dear old Dad used to say it, and I believe it. Gettin’ older ain’t for the faint of heart! I’ve been around the block a few hundred times. Seen a slew of things, lived through some wild times/rides/stuff, and picked up a ton and a half of gray hair along the way. Let me tell you, aging really ain’t for the faint of heart, he was right. It’s a journey that’s as unpredictable as a rock band’s hotel room at daybreak — you never know what you’re gonna get, but you hope it’s ok.

First off, let’s talk about the body. Remember those days when you could party all night, sleep for an hour, then go to work feeling like a million bucks? Yeah, those days are long gone, my friend. Now, I look at a flight of stairs like it’s Mount Everest, and if I sleep wrong? I’m walking around like Quasimodo for the next few days.

But it’s not just the creaky knees and the back that’s gone funky. Oh no, it’s the mystery ailments that pop up. One day, you’re fine. Next, you’ve got something called ‘tinnitus and you have any tin in the house! It’s like your body’s playing bingo with symptoms, and trust me, you don’t want to hit that bingo.

And then there’s the eyesight. Remember when you could read the fine print on anything? At 40 there went the eyes, I needed glasses to find my glasses, and…

--

--

Dean Benson

Long time married, 2 daughters, (I don't scare easily) On Air Personality for SKY7music.com Middays the "Only Classic Rock Channel" as "The Dean of Rock & Roll"