courtesy of unsplash.com

My Dear Old Dad Used To Say, “Boy, You Don’t Have Enough Sense To Come In Out Of The Rain.”

Dean Benson
4 min readMay 16, 2024

You know those things your parents say that stick with you forever? My dear old Dad had a ton of them, and one of his favorites was, “Boy, you don’t have enough sense to come in out of the rain.” It always hurt a bit, but sometimes it just cracked me up because it was his go-to line whenever I did something a bit… dopey or just plain dumb. Behind that sort of funny jab was a whole lot of wisdom about life and knowing when to dodge trouble. So let’s look into that classic dear old Dad line and the stories behind it, all served up with a side of chill and a good laugh.

My dad was the king of using common sense, his sayings, and humor could be as dry as the deserts he came from in Southern California, or big belly laughs. His all-time hit, especially when I was a teen who thought he knew everything, was about my apparent lack of common sense to avoid the rain. Like that time I left my go-cart out during a storm, only to find it looking like a sad, drowned rat the next day. Or when I forgot to put the t-tops back on the car, and it turned into a “Dodge Charger” swimming pool.

Dad was a simple, straightforward guy’s guy with a simple way of seeing things. He grew up with his parents tending an orange orchard, so he knew weather could be a friend or a foe. He respected…

--

--

Dean Benson

Long time married, 2 daughters, (I don't scare easily) On Air Personality for SKY7music.com Middays the "Only Classic Rock Channel" as "The Dean of Rock & Roll"