Oh Cancun, You Treated Us So Well!

Dean Benson
4 min readMar 28, 2022

Firstly, I want to declare that I married up. WAY up. So far up that it scares me to think where I would be without her brains and guidance. Yes, I kiss up to her daily!

My wife, Shelly, won a “President’s Club” trip because she is a marvel of sales, knowledge, and ability in the mortgage business. I am always in awe of her prowess. We found out that she won, and they sent us a packet of information about a BEAUTIFUL resort in Cancun, Mexico. I was very proud and astonished at how well her bank treated us and I was very grateful.

So, off we go to Mexico, flying to Cancun, via Houston from Phoenix. We had everything we needed, tickets, passports, and extra money, in case of emergency. We got to Cancun, got out of customs, and into a bus, then on to our hotel/resort. Arrival at “Melia Turquesa” resort was very uneventful, a beautiful property, with all the best amenities, great restaurants, etc.

My wife and I explored the property and decided to get some sleep, waiting for the excursions and activities that were planned for the winners of the trip. The next day was mainly meetings, rah-rah sessions, (motivational speeches), etc. I hung around, watched the meetings, even though I wasn’t part of the company, We had some great food there, went shopping nearby, relaxed and enjoyed.

The next full day was planned to go to the Mayan ruins of Tulum, and snorkeling at a lagoon called Shel-Ha. We were to take a bus ride there, and back. That was an eye-opener, the bus went top speed…

--

--

Dean Benson

Long time married, 2 daughters, (I don't scare easily) On Air Personality for SKY7music.com Middays the "Only Classic Rock Channel" as "The Dean of Rock & Roll"